IT’S NOT ‘FREE’ IF I AM PAYING FOR IT, POEPOL!

I’ve stripped my moer for these blooming students now!

Hear ye! Hear ye! This is the most important paragraph of this whole piece:

The Government does not have any money! Not a single cent. It gets all its money from taxpayers! So when you are asking the ‘government’ for ‘Free’ education, you are asking ME, the taxpayer to pay for it. FREE education is as ‘free’ as Nkandla was ‘free.’ It’s not FREE if I am paying for it, poepol!

And if you are going to ask me to pay for your education, ask bloody nicely. The least you can do is stop breaking things, burning things and have a bad attitude about it. But what you cannot do is DEMAND. It is my money. It is your parents’ money. Your friends’. Your family’s. The government is already stealing my money in the form of tax, so I am not going to let you steal it as well, especially as your thieving and bullying technique is starting to piss me off.

img_3578
If you want my money, ask for it nicely.

I would also like to suggest that you gather in a different place to ask for this money. Might I suggest the corner of William Nicol and the N1? Make a placard and ask for it during peak hours, because that is what you are – a beggar. You seem to think you are something else, but you are not. At least be an honest beggar like your fellow cardboard-carrying colleagues on the corner. Gather in groups on our corners and hold up cards like:

“Viv! Yes you! How much are YOU prepared to pay for my tertiary education?”

At least it is honest and the transaction between a motorist and a beggar is consensual, plus the load of paying is split between many people. Protesting and disrupting university activities amounts to bullying tactics. Also, by asking me directly, you are cutting out the red tape and corruption of government, so if I pledge to give you R1,000 towards your education, you will receive the whole R1,000. If I give it to the government (tax), they will give R500 to the Guptas, a further R300 on corruption, R100 on red tape and only R100 will actually go to your tertiary education.

So you, see, standing on the street corner, begging for my contribution is the only honest and financially sensible way to go about things. So, how much am I prepared to give you? Nothing. I never wanted to raise my own children and I don’t necessarily want to raise anyone else’s. Moreover, I understand that all of us paying for everyone else’s basic education (school) is a good idea for the whole society, I don’t believe a free tertiary education is a ‘Right’ (whatever that is) and nor is it necessary for our economy to grow. From research I understand that we need more activity in our agricultural and manufacturing areas, as well as small businesses. Degrees are not necessary for that. What is necessary is a reasonable expectation for your future. It’s okay to be a plumber or a policeman. Not everyone is a CEO. Also, only a quarter of you guys eventually graduate after starting, so you really are not a good investment.

According to research, South Africans have a better chance of being employed if they have shown they have been able to hold down any type of job or internship than when they march in with a degree only.

I implore you to understand that what you are about to have for FREE will come at the expense of someone else. You are fighting to become a HAVE whereas others will have to become HAVE NOTs because of you – the exact opposite of what you claim to be protesting for – the HAVE NOTS.

Hear ye! Hear ye! We simply cannot afford you, no matter how much you stamp your feet. Ok, we actually can afford for all of your University expenses to be free, but not also for health care for the poor AND social grants to the poor AND social upliftment AND dealing with a crippling drought. And you claim you are fighting for the poor?

Then have the courage to go to Auntie Fatima who will now forego her social grant because you, Frikkie, wants to study Philosophy. Tell her to her face, like I asked you to ask me personally for my money.

Dumisane, think of how you are going to explain to Basetsana why she cant get her diabetes treatments at the local hospital anymore, because you, Dumisane, wants to become an international brain surgeon.

Is it easier to destroy ‘things’ rather than looking others in the eye? Is it because it ‘feels’ nice when you fight for a cause? All that adrenaline and drugs of self-righteousness. I don’t know. I used to listen to you, but my ears are shut now.

I am an extremely generous person, but I would rather spend my money supporting small businesses and people who are willing to work. I tip large, I support local small businesses over big franchises and pay triple what other people would for casual labour.

And think very carefully: who do you think I would rather give my money to:

The poor guy who stands in the blazing sun for 12 hour a day, with a smile on his face, desperately twirling batons to get a first decent meal in days or you – dikbek, entitled, delusional, destructive.

img_3573
Nothing for you. I’ve stripped my moer.

Not you. Not even the 5c worth of my opinion already spent. You’ve crossed a line with me when you allow others to burn libraries without distancing yourselves from it. You think it is cool to ‘protest’, sitting with RayBans and I-Phones, many of you, trying to look cool. And those of you with rich parents, can simply fuck off.

Maybe you should try holding up a placard saying:

“Hey, Viv. If you pay for my education, maybe I will get a job and not come and rob you while you sleep.

Okay, now I am listening. Now there is something in it for me. Except, at the moment you are trying to rob me while I am awake. Fuck off.

See you on the corner of William Nicol and the N1 where you belong.

110 Comments Add yours

  1. Reblogged this on Polkadots&Popcorn and commented:
    This is the best Opinion I have read in a long time…Let’s share the crap out of this. Because we should all think like this.

    Like

  2. Ncedi says:

    Well written entertaining article…

    Like

  3. jopr says:

    The hatred and racism on this page is just sad. Are you proud of this Viv? Proud of all these bigots defending your awful post? Not coming back here, it’s too depressing.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Jay Bird says:

    Everyone including the students, idiotic as they are, knows this. The agenda, the visceral “ideology” is much worse. The very ethos, process and manifestation of education itself is being attacked. “Whitness” (civilisation, decency, law and order, hard work as a path to progress, and clean efficent ordered society) is despised, envied and rejected. At its core it is barbarism clashing with civilisation. They do not care at all about who pays for what, so long as everything is “free” and anyone can partake without any qualification whatsoever. In other words the net result of this desire is utter destruction and chaos. So then eventually the outer manifestation will mirror the inner desire. One group desires cililisation, the other desires a barbaric wasteland. This has been demonstated repeatedly throughout history in many countries.

    Like

  5. Jason Barber says:

    Wow, what racist vitriol. You clearly have no understanding of what it takes to make a great nation. Also, you lack nuance in your debate, and your writing is quite frankly racist. No one is stealing from you. No one is entitled. They want the rightful opportunities denied to them by 400 years of oppression and prejudice. MOVE TO AUSTRALIA.

    Liked by 4 people

    1. JJ says:

      I think you missed her point. Everyone has the right to express their feelings as is apparent at our universities. To be honest for the sales of our economy I would rather it is verbally as opposed to burning and destroying years worth of resources. Clearly some people were never taught the value of looking after other people’s belongings.
      Everyone has the right to free basic education. Not everyone deserves to go to university especially if the only solution you see is burning down resources.
      Suddenly everyone is an expert on education. Australia sounds good right now because I don’t want my kids to Have a shoddy tertiary education disturbed by protesting students acting like it’s ok to destroy public property, insulting staff and scaring people.

      Like

    2. Roly says:

      How the heck you see “racism” in this beats me!

      Like

  6. Herman says:

    It was entertaining until I realised that it wasn’t written ironically…

    Viv, you’re very hand-to-mouth on the matter without understanding the subtleties of the situation. The way you explain what happens to your R1000 shows that you have absolutely no idea how governmental systems work. You also show amazing shortsightedness in how “this does not affect you”. A nation that is unrestful because of systemic problems DOES affect you. It affects you enough to post this racist shit.
    I think it would be beneficial to educate yourself about systemic and institutionalised racism, as well as the concept of Whiteness (as you probably think that that is racist, hint, it is, just not in the way you think).

    Liked by 3 people

  7. Earl John Wyatt says:

    “Hey, Viv. If you pay for my education, maybe I will get a job and not come and rob you while you sleep.”

    Uh no. I’m not going to be blackmailed nor threatened into paying either. They can damn well pay it themselves just like I had to.

    Like

  8. Earl John Wyatt says:

    As for all the F-tards screaming “racism” and “Bigotry” Screw you all too. Who are you to determine what my tax money gets used for. Jason Barber how many “great country’s” have you helped build what is your knowledge base other that a misguided dose of Social Justice Syndrome?

    I’ve noted that trombones like you are the first to bugger off to Perth when your Utopia comes and bites you in the backside just as it will when the universities collapse because the sums just don’t work. Yes it actually takes money of which there is none, not wishful thinking and SJW tears.

    So we can take it by your comment that you fully support the burning down of universities and subsequent screeching for “free” everything? I suppose it is quite acceptable that students at certain universities are racially abused everyday whilst going about their business by black students simply because they have the support of people like you to do so.

    Like

  9. Jo-Ann says:

    If you don’t either, read, like, understand or support this post….. You can’t handle the heat and you should most probably get out of the kitchen.

    Like

  10. Kelly says:

    A little hatred, yes. Racism? No. It is all color of man involved in the unnecessary illegal destruction of property. This is not a race matter. This is young adults throwing tantrums because they’re not getting what they want.
    Tertiary education is a privilege.
    Sure, free education could possibly benefit the nation. But should you not have to earn that first? The scores you need to enter university is so low I cannot believe it. With a 40% an acceptable pass rate?
    Should young adults be rewarded for burning and breaking down buildings, causing discruction where ever they go?
    Ultimately robbing fellow students of their education for fear of their lives?

    Like

  11. Jamie Brown says:

    Firstly, you Need to check your privilege.

    If anyone is under the impression that this article is not racist clear cannot see the undertone and implications of your statements. I think many people fail to see the effect this has on all of us, so I will share with you my experience.

    I am a coloured male, very intellectual, always achieved way above average results however when I reached matrix I was told to work as I do come from an improverished background. I however, did as your article so eloquently put, begged neighbours for assistance in student loans as my single parent mother could not stand as surety. I do not think that you, author, will ever understand the the amount of embarrassment I felt having to do that. Or going through my tertiary education with that fear and stress hanging over me. Having to work a constantly to service the interest on these loans.

    I have since completed my degree and I am the youngest manger at my company(a large MNC) at 23 years old. I can be commended for my determination to get where I am but I am now drowning in student debt without the support structures more privileged students have. If you do not understand the concept of institutionalised racism and why all these movements are important I suggest you do some reflection and ask people who are faced with these challenges not by choice but by being born into the wrong skin or class. I wish I could verbalise the anger reading your article and the comments consumed me with.

    All I can ever ask is that you consider the next person. The amount of challenges these students face is incomprehensible and they still manage to graduate through intensive degrees. It is not fair and it is not an equal playing field. Before I am attacked, I do not condone the violence but more so I do not condone the lack of understanding and compassion for the students. They are frustrated. Free tertiary education will benefit your own children and mine and all the generations to come ( I pay tax just as the next adult, and no, we do not get a say in what it is used for).

    If you are by the means to afford the vast sums required to study for your children does not mean you should be against the movement. These are children, who only want to have the choice to do whatever they wish. They will earn their place in varsity with their results.

    So lastly, I would like to appeal to all of you but mostly, you, the author: try to use your influence, resources and knowledge to educate, guide and mobile our youth. We are literally the future of this world. No matter how frustrated you may feel, attempt to be empathetic. And always be mindful that majority of the people (even the ones you are asking to become beggars) are children. Who did not ask or choose their circumstances.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Contemplations says:

      Jamie,
      Thank you for sharing a part of your story that is definitely both sad and victorious. I think for the most part people are tired of the destruction of property just to get their point across. It is mostly argued that there should be different forums where these concerns could be raised. Unfortunately tertiary education is very expensive. Here you are dealing with highly educated and skilled lecturers who should be compensated not to mention administration fees and everything that accompanies a tertiary environment. Don’t get me wrong, I fully agree that there are some students who are hard done by (and affected by the past). I just can’t help to note that all of these protesters don’t necessarily have financial struggles.

      Now I want to share my story. And this should just be part of the conversation as I don’t want to negate other people’s struggles or take anything away from what other people might be dealing with.
      I’m a white male, 27 years old. My father, for the most part of my upbringing were unable to find work (even though he has three Master degrees all paid for by study loans and academic bursaries as his parents were poor and couldn’t afford university).
      My mom worked at the hospital, mostly night shifts and of course tried to help run the household while being mostly sleep deprived. My mom also used to bring left-over hospital food home for us to eat as we didn’t always have food.
      It was definitely not all good memories.

      In retrospect I can state that I was privileged by the fact that I was fortunate enough to attend a rather good primary and high school (both public schools of course) where I received education from good teachers. I excelled at sports and was dux learner and deputy head boy.

      Needless to say, there were no money for me to go and study. I applied for a loan at the bank just to be able to go to university. I completed my degree and honours degree after which I took up a sales job (commission based) earning me about R3000 to R4000 a month . While my study debt amounted to about R2800p/m. The company closed down and I was retrenched after 10 months. I had nowhere to go.

      After this I begged and got an assistant job at the university because of the fact that they knew me and I started marking exam papers and also enrolled for my Masters degree which I paid for with a bursary I received from the university because I did well in Honours. This job earned me about R4000 p/m. After a year the university couldn’t continue with my contract.

      This is where the hard part starts. With two degrees (good results) and almost a masters degree I couldn’t find any job after that for two years. I did odd handyman jobs, made food at a hostel, cared for children…..anything just to eat (still paying study debt). I sent out about 400 cv’s during that two years. Most of the job advertisements promptly stated only ‘ee candidates’ could apply. The odd interview I did get I was informed afterwards that they must think of their ee targets and I (obviously) don’t meet that criteria.

      Fortunately I did get a job after two years, I don’t earn a lot but I make a living. And my study debt is almost paid off.

      Never once during this time did I light one match or throw one stone.

      Like

      1. Jamie Brown says:

        In no way do I wish to detract from anyone’s struggle. I know many white people who had very similar, if not in some cases more challenging circumstances.

        @Contemplations, I commend you and I am so glad you have managed to reach a successful and stable stage in your life.

        I agree that not all students suffer financial difficulties and that it is not always about race. However we cannot create any change if you do not accept that majority of our population are people of colour and majority of our population lives under or just above the poverty line.

        I truly wish I had the answers or that my voice could make a difference. If you could compare our stories, it is clear as day light to see that free education should benefit ALL in South Africa – this is where the discrimination should end and equal footing should begin.

        As an adult now paying tax I would love to know that the money I am paying is going towards the youth in our countries future (this includes all of your children) and not just lining politicians pockets. The SAA bailouts, nuclear arms deal with Russia and the billions lost on wasteful expenditure can be used to pay these highly skilled and educated lecturers who more than deserve their incomes. By restructuring the budget we can afford, as a country, free education. However, if we are constantly fighting ourselves we put no pressure on the Government to make any changes.

        Lastly, I have never and will never condone violence. But remember during apartheid when MK used violence to gain attention and they were branded terrorists. These students aren’t the same because they are damaging themselves. But when Maties had a peaceful lock in, in the Bib, no one paid them any attention. I do not think violence in any situation is okay but it seems to be the only way to get the government and those in power to pay attention.

        This is where we come in. Do not, I beg, do not condemn the youth. Educate, guide and help shape them. Be present where possible at the rallies. Help them organize their sit ins. Provide food and water when they do peacefully protest by doing sit ins (like my company did when UWC had a peaceful sit).
        I am not agreeing with the violence but the only way we can make a difference is by uniting and teaching them.

        Like

    2. Rudi says:

      “Check your privilege.” Translation: shut up, white Untermensch. Hilarious!

      I’m sure you’re very clever and hard-working, but look, man. What’s already on offer is a zero percent fee increase, and there are already bursaries for deserving low-income students. The protesters, however, don’t fit that profile. They tend to be rich and bored, that’s why they have time to cause this nonsense. The protesters are burning down property that will cost money to replace. Money that will not be available to help poor students any more.

      So yeah, if you decide that you can just disconnect the violence, intimidation, destruction of property, etc., from the protests. and imagine that Viv is talking about you… then of course you’re going to get angry. But that’s a stupid thing to do. You need to keep the context in mind, which is that these people are out destroying our universities in service of a political agenda. Those are the people we are angry at. Are you burning down universities? No? Then this doesn’t apply to you.

      Like

    3. Just another poor girl says:

      Jamie Brown, I am a white female. I started working the day after I left school, I did not go to a university campus and I worked and studied for my degree through Unisa. I also come from an impoverished background and my single mother could barely afford to feed us even though she too worked several jobs. Being unable to go to a University is not limited to blacks, coloureds or any other colour distinction. I worked to get myself qualified and studied as I worked. Maybe you could have done the same without having to borrow from neighbours? The students are only hurting themselves by damaging infrastructure since that will again cost money to repair. I do not agree with calling people poepol or being indiscriminate towards students since it isn’t all the students that are involved, but I do understand the frustration as taxes gets higher and I still have to feed and provide for my own children in an economy where our kids gets substandard education and metrics can barely do sums or write. I’m saddened that students think they have a right to everything.

      Like

  12. Jeffy says:

    Yeah well if you think about it, the only time where your education is asked for is when you work for someone else. So the way I see it, if companies need you to be educated they should pay for it.

    Like

  13. Miss Dk says:

    There is no Racism in this article. It is not just white, coloured or African children destroying our places of education. And yes the government does not have the funds to offer free education. It is not free, nothing in life is free. Someone needs to pay for it and currently it is the tax payer who is suffering and it might not effect everyone when taxes are raised in order to repair what these children destroy, but hell it will effect the lower to middle income people like myself who can barely already afford to keep my head above water. The people who is willing to work two jobs just to survive. So no there is no racism in the article, just the god honest truth.

    Like

  14. Johan says:

    Guess what, you do not have a right to free education. Where have we gotten this idea from? Nothing in life is free, someone, somewhere will end up paying. Take out a loan and pay it off like everyone else. P.S. I’m still paying back my loan after 4 years of working. It’s not easy.

    And yes, the word “racist” has completely lost its true meaning in this country. There is nothing racist about this article, I can see no attack whatsoever on anyone’s race. Oh wait, there’s a picture of a black girl in the article (IT MUST BE RACIST!) Viv is just an angry South African citizen, sick of the destructive mentality exhibited by our future leaders.

    Millions of South Africans will agree with me, but are afraid of being branded a racist or bigot for speaking their mind. (Was this post racist?)

    Like

  15. MSS says:

    When they get back to school, schools should teach students the Countries Internal Economics first of all or before going any further with lessons!!!! Economics is mathematics, mathematics does not know what racism is nor know colour of skin!!!!!

    Like

    1. Spiros says:

      Just one small adjustment…(you sad moronic fool). Economics is not maths. Read Marx.

      Like

  16. Spiltmilker says:

    Reblogged this on WINKS AND KISSES.

    Like

  17. Aldyth Malan says:

    I fully agree with this post

    Like

  18. Adam says:

    What many of the students and academics are calling for is a graduate tax. This might not be a bad thing. What ever the funding method, more affordable tertiary education will improve our economy long term and in turn benefit ALL south africans. Dont be short sighted.

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Ike Jakson says:

    Somebody had to say this one day. Congrats for having the guts to do so.

    Like

Leave a Reply

